The Republic of Zambia is a landlocked country in Southern Africa, neighbouring the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzania to the north-east, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west. The capital city is Lusaka, in the south-central part of Zambia. The population is concentrated mainly around Lusaka in the south and the Copperbelt Province to the northwest.

The population is estimated to be 16.2 million. There are an estimated 70 different languages (Bembe being the first language for 33.4%, Nyanja 14.7% and Tonga 11.4%), although this includes different dialects. The under 5 mortality rate is 63 per 1000 live births. In 2016, it was reported that Zambia had only 0.49 qualified physician anaesthetists per 100,000 population, less than neighbouring countries which share similar health needs.  This is significantly short of the Lancet Commission target of 20 physician anaesthetists per 100,000 population by 2030.

Zambia is a country of rugged terrain and diverse wildlife, with many parks and safari areas. On its border with Zimbabwe is the famed Victoria Falls – indigenously called Mosi-oa-Tunya, or “Smoke that Thunders” – plunging a misty 108m into narrow Batoka Gorge. Spanning the Zambezi River just below the falls is Victoria Falls Bridge, a spectacular viewpoint.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.